In which Leviticus applies to real life…

I just finished reading through Leviticus this morning…it’s taken me over a week because, well, to be honest…I find myself questioning the usefulness of its inclusion in the Bible…just being real here, ya’ll.  Actually, last Saturday I started in on the book and complained to Pete I didn’t understand the point of reading it, but I persevered.

Well, now Pete is blaming me for the pain he’s been in all week.  Let me share with you how it all started…

Pete began developing a weird rash last weekend…he looked up poison ivy (it really isn’t a problem here in Mexico), he looked up spider bites, bug bites, anything he could think that might be causing the rash.  I, of course, was busy applying Leviticus to our life, declaring my dear husband unclean.

I suggested he might need to present himself to a priest for an inspection.

He opted for the doctor.

The doctor took one look at his stomach rash and declared he had shingles.  Yikes!

Pete had to do a lot of research on Google to convince me that he was not, in fact, unclean (or…contagious).  He did this in between spasms of pain.  Poor guy.  I felt just a bit bad about laughingly telling him to go to a priest.

It gets better…this Sunday, a family is bringing a slaughtered lamb to the Ranch…no joke!  We’ll be cooking it up into this delicious dish here called “birria.”  So, Leviticus 14, the whole sacrifice for atonement for the one to be cleansed from his uncleanness…we’ve got that covered, too.  Although, we’ll probably forgo the putting of blood on the ear lobe, finger and toe.

In a serious thought, though…Leviticus does make me think about God’s HOLINESS, and then it makes me more thankful than ever for Jesus!  And appreciative of how compassionate and merciful Jesus is, and the extent to which His once for all sacrifice totally rocked this world of ours!

Categories: Family | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

