The Movies and God

We took our girls to the movies for the first time this past week. It was in celebration of our forever family day! (a.k.a. Ava’s adoption day).

Pete and I love movies. We love a good story. We were excited to take our kids. Here are their reactions:

Kylah: ate the caramel popcorn and candy, fell asleep in a sugar crash.

Ava: as we walked in she said, “Wow” in a voice of awe. (That’s right, Ava, and it never gets old.)

Ali: we sat down, got settled in our seats and were waiting for the show to start. She leans over to me and says, “Mom, this is a lot bigger than our T.V. This is the biggest screen I’ve ever seen. But nothing’s bigger than God.”

Ok, there are times when I wonder if our kids are listening, if we’re teaching them what we want to, if my daily choices in life are backing up what I want to communicate to them about God, about the Kingdom, about priorities in life. I wonder if I let my kids watch too much t.v. (probably, yep). I beat myself up for not reading to them more or yelling at them during shower time (I HATE shower time. I get wet as I try to rinse shampoo out of hair from a VERY low pressure shower head. It feels like a sauna in our bathroom. The girls complain. I complain.) Some days I check my email or my facebook or whatever one too many times.

And then Ali says something like that, and I’m encouraged. And I’m also challenged. Again. God IS bigger than all these distractions in our lives. I don’t know about you, but media is a HUGE distraction for me. I am positive I spend too much time consuming media. Instead, it’s God who needs to consume me, and media mostly just gets in the way of that. And this week, He used my daughter to remind me again of proper priorities.

“Tomorrow is a new day. With no mistakes in it (yet).” From a good story. (Anne of Green Gables)

“The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” From the best story. (Lamentations 3:22-23)

Categories: Family | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

