Values in Ministry: Part II

I’ve been working on making a new set of ministry reminders or values based upon a book that I recently finished entitled A Spirituality of the Road by David Bosch.  In the last post I mentioned that I had ministry reminders taped near my desk during my years as a youth ministry. These new ministry reminders and values will be posted alongside my previous list as a reminder to me to stay focused on what is important and as a source of encouragement. As with almost any list, it is certainly not exhaustive but simply what I gleaned from reading A Spirituality of the Road and Scripture.

If and when you pray for us you can think of this list and pray these things for us.

1) I will practice the presence of God.

            My relationship with God is not dependent upon language, locations, or limitations…so do not forsake my first love. “Remain in me and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself.” John 15:1-8

2) I will guard against the extremes.

            Guard against the extremes of slothfulness and over activity. Live in the tension between the two. “If you find honey, eat just enough-too much and you will vomit.” Proverbs 25:16 “A sluggard buries his hand in the dish, he is too lazy to bring it back to his mouth.” Proverbs 26:15

 3) I will give my heart.

God is more concerned about my heart than my adequacies and proficiencies. It is not about me and what I can achieve. What God wants is a willing heart. I am a captive in Christ’s procession and he leads the way. “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God you will not despise.” Psalms 51:17

 4) I will fellowship with Mexicans.

I am here to experience and demonstrate the Christian journey with the Mexican people.  I am not here to sell something or convince anyone of anything. I am here to demonstrate a way of life centered on Christ.  I am not called to change the world, Mexico, or my neighbors. Only Christ and the Spirit can do so…I am here to model a way of life and invite people along.  “All the believers were together and had everything in common…every day they continued to meet together.” Acts 2:44,46 “There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.” Galatians 3:28

5) I will redeem the mundane.

            It is in the commonplace where I will find and communicate Christ. Christ is revealed in the simplest of actions. Do not underestimate the genuineness of  communicating Christ in my attitudes and actions towards others. “Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” I Thess 5:16

 6) I will claim the spiritual authority and inheritance entrusted to me.

            I do have spiritual authority as an ambassador of God. Do not be afraid to  exercise it. “We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us.” 2 Corinthians 5:20

 7) I will believe in the good.

            In all the differences it’s easy to become critical and negative. I will choose to believe the good in people over the bad. “Do not be overcome by evil but overcome evil with good.” Romans 12:21

 8) I will not play the martyr card.

            Be wary of having a martyr complex and false sacrifice…it’s not attractive. “Not only so, but wealso glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance;perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.” Romans 5:3-5

 9) I will embrace my weakness.

Embrace my weakness, humility, and vulnerability. Minister out of my weakness and not in spite of it. If I am a servant than I will serve where my Master calls me to serve and not necessarily where I think I should be. “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

 10) I will work from, in, and toward the reality of God’s Kingdom.

I will work and hope out of the present and future reality of God’s kingdom and not out of earthly despair, fear, and anxiety. ““The time has come,” he said. “The kingdom of God has come near. Repent and believe the good news!” Mark 1:15

Categories: Mission, prayer | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Values in Ministry: Part II

  1. Unknown Man Stalker

    very motivating Pete, to post my own goals at home too. Thank you.

  2. Excellent!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

