Values in Ministry

Currently I’m working through creating a list of values or ministry reminders from a great little book I finished called A Spirituality of the Road by David Bosch. I would highly recommend it! I’m almost done and am planning on sharing them shortly so that you all can pray with us that we would instill these values into our lives and routine in Mexico.

Having a list of values or ministry reminders has served me well in the past. I would have stated values or quotes printed out and posted at my desk or in my office as reminders of what is really important and keeping me on course when things were hard and keeping me on the ground when things were going well. 

For fun here is a list of values or ministry reminders that I had posted on my desk for eight years as a youth pastor. These reminders served me well and were often a daily source of encouragement and wisdom to me in ministry. I still carry these values with me and look forward having a new set of “missions” related reminders to post next to them. These values or ministry reminders came from another great book called Your First Two Years in Youth Ministry by Doug Fields. I would also recommend this book to anyone who is new or thinking about ministry whether youth ministry related or not.

1. I will move slowly.

Only simpletons believe everything they are told! The prudent carefully consider their steps. The wise are cautious and avoid danger; fools plunge ahead with great confidence. Proverbs 14:15-16

 2. I will regularly check my motives and evaluate my heart.

When a king judges, he carefully weighs all the evidence, distinguishing the bad from the good. Who can say, “I have cleansed my heart; I am pure and free from sin”? The Lord despises double standards of every kind. Even children are known by the way they act, whether their conduct is pure and right. Ears to hear and eyes to see—both are gifts from the Lord.  Proverbs 20:8-12

 3. I will steer clear of the number’s game.

    “If a shepherd has one hundred sheep, and one wanders away and is lost, what will he do? Won’t he leave the ninety-nine others and go out into the hills to search for the lost one?   Matthew 18:12

 4. I will not criticize the past.

    No, dear brothers and sisters, I am still not all I should be, but I am focusing all my energies on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead,   Philip. 3:13

 5. I will avoid the comparison trap.

    Be sure to do what you should, for then you will enjoy the personal satisfaction of having done your work well, and you won’t need to compare yourself to anyone else.    Galatians 6:4

 6. I will focus on priorities.

    “Teacher, which is the most important commandment in the law of Moses?”

Jesus replied, ” ‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. A second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the other commandments and all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments.”  Matthew 22:36-40

7. I will pace myself.

    Patient endurance is what you need now, so you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that he has promised. Hebrews 10:36

8. I will serve.

    But among you it should be quite different. Whoever wants to be a leader among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must become your slave. For even I, the Son of Man, came here not to be served but to serve others, and to give my life as a ransom for many.”  Matt. 20:26-28

 9. I will be a learner.

    Learn to be wise, and develop good judgment. Don’t forget or turn away from my words.  Whoever walks with the wise will become wise; whoever walks with fools will suffer harm.    Proverbs 4:5, 13:20

10.  I will pursue contentment.

    Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to get along happily whether I have much or little.  Philip. 4:11

Categories: Mission, prayer | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Values in Ministry

  1. Unknown Man Stalker

    It is moments like these that reassure my bromance!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

