The Ministry of Fundraising

In this season of thanksgiving I am very grateful for the process of fundraising…really I am.

I just finished a book this week by Henri Nouwen (my other man crush) called A Spirituality of Fundraising.

Here is a beginning statement from his book:

“Fundraising is as spiritual as giving a sermon, entering a time of prayer, visiting the sick, or feeding the hungry.” -Nouwen

If you are like me a few months ago, I would’ve thought this statement to be an exaggeration at best or a bunch of hooey at worst. However, after engaging in fundraising for the past months I have come to experience the depths of truth found in his words.

See here’s the deal…

Fundraising is not about money…contrary to what many people say. Pastors (at least good ones) do not give sermons or teach so that people will tithe nor do they visit people in hospitals so that they will get a donation on the way out the door…so too in the fundraising process.

Fundraising is ultimately about testifying to God’s kingdom and our mutual call to be a serving people. When we make fundraising about money we cheapen God’s people and simply turn them into objects to be used rather than people with whom we have the honor of worshiping and serving alongside.

“Whether people respond to our fundraising appeal with a ‘Yes,’ a ‘No,’ or a ‘Maybe’ is less important than the knowledge that we are all gathered as one on the holy ground of God’s generous disposition toward us.” -Nouwen

When I began, I very much dreaded the notion that we would have to be fundraising for the ministry in Mexico, but I can honestly say that after engaging in the ministry of fundraising for the past few months, I would have it no other way.

“Fundraising is a very rich and beautiful activity. It is a confident, joyful, and hope-filled expression of ministry. In ministering to each other, each from the riches that he or she possesses, we work together for the full coming of God’s kingdom.” -Nouwen

As I said in the beginning, I have become very grateful for the ministry of fundraising. I am grateful for what it has taught me about myself. I am grateful for what it has taught me about others. And I am grateful for what it has taught me about God. The ministry of fundraising has led me to a new depth of gratitude I never knew before.

“Gratitude flows from the recognition that who we are and what we have are gifts to be received and shared. Gratitude releases us from the bonds of obligation and prepares us to offer ourselves freely and fully for the work of the kingdom. When we approach fundraising in a spirit of gratitude, we do so knowing that God has already given us what we need most for life in abundance. Therefore confidence in our mission and vision, and our freedom to love the person to whom we are talking about donating money, do not depend on how that person responds. In this way, gratitude allows us to approach a fundraising meeting without grasping neediness and to leave it without resentment or dejection. Coming and going, we can remain secure in God’s love with our hearts set joyfully on the kingdom.” -Nouwen

May each of us remain secure in God’s love this season and set our hearts joyfully on his kingdom and our calling to be a part of His process of reconciliation.

Categories: Church, Mission, Unity | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Ministry of Fundraising

  1. Linda Allison

    Just what I needed! I will probably come back to your post several times in the upcoming months when I’m in need of a godly perspective on this issue. I’ve added the book to my Amazon wish list! Congratulations on 85%! Vaya con Dios, Linda

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

