Pete’s Man Crush…

I have a confession to make…

I have a man crush on Dietrich Bonhoeffer. I’ve read all of his works minus one (Ethics) and am currently reading a biography on him written by Eric Metaxas called Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy. Bonhoeffer has taught me more about the nature of the church, being a pastor, and standing in solidarity for others than almost anyone else.  There area many intriguing things about the man but for those who don’t know much about him he was a theologian and pastor during the rise of the Nazi’s and WWII. He earned his PHD at the age of 21 and worked as a pastor/theologian till he was declared a “pacifist and enemy of the state” and began to run an underground seminary. He was ultimately hung for his work as a double-agent spy against the Nazi regime and his involvement in a plot to assassinate Hitler.

Here are some quotes of his from the recent biography I’m reading:

“Where a people prays, there is the church, and where the church is; there is never loneliness.”

“It is much easier for me to imagine a praying murderer, a praying prostitute, than a vain person praying. Nothing is so at odds with prayer as vanity.”

“The religion of Christ is not a tidbit after one’s bread; on the contrary, it is the bread or it is nothing. People should at least understand and concede this if they call themselves Christian.”

 

I would highly encourage you to read one of his books or for you non-readers watch a great documentary about him on called Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Pacifist, Nazi Resister. (Last time I checked this documentary was free on Netflix.)

 

Categories: Church | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Pete’s Man Crush…

  1. “It is not necessary that we should discover new ideas in our meditation. It is sufficient, and far more important, if the Word, as we read and understand it, penetrates and dwells within us.”
    From Bonhoeffer’s book Life Together

    Yes Pete, Bonhoeffer was an amazing servant, an amazing man– interesting what being all for God really means in a person’s life all the way to the end and 50 years later.

  2. Anonymous

    I feel weak not only as a man, be it a characteristic of courage or moral fortitude, but a follower of Christ when peering into this mans life. I have laid my head to rest at night burning through the parts of my life I would emulate after this man but feel inefficient and timorous, I then wake the next morning with the pressures of the day weighing in around me and only by Gods grace and influence (whatever form that may be) do I overcome the the temptations of selfishness and indulgence that are more often chosen.

    I love you Peter and hope to always keep our friendship unfinished

    Daniel

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

