The Death of Still

Pete and I were having an interesting conversation in the car today (well, at least I think it was interesting); I was explaining to him why the word “still” (used as an adverb) is kind of a pet peeve for me…I want to erase the word (used adverbially) from my vocabulary.  Here’s why.  When you use the word as an adverb as in, “I still love you” it’s conveying this meaning of “Even with everything considered, I love you.”  So, even though you are affirming love for someone, you’re bringing up in that one little word “still” all the reasons why you shouldn’t have to love them.  And I wonder if that’s how we should be loving.

I mean, we all know we’re screwed up people; that without the unconditional love and forgiveness of God we would remain completely and utterly desolate, wreaking havoc and destruction wherever we go and whatever we do.  But, because of God’s beautiful plan of redemption through Jesus Christ, we are now completely and utterly redeemed.  Beauty from ashes.  And, the coolest part of our beauty is that God extends forgiveness for our screwed-up-ness.

Psalm 103: 11-12 “For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.”  1 John 1:9 “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”

I guess I just would hate to wake up every morning and have God say, “Emily, I still love you (I mean, even with everything considered…like how you lose patience with your kids, or how you judge other people, or that thought you had yesterday…about not trusting me…yeah, I remember all that, but don’t worry, I still love you.”

I think God says, “I love you.  Nothing you can do will make me love you more or less, because I AM love.  Love perfect. Love unconditional.  New mercies every morning.”  Great is God’s faithfulness.  Great is God’s sacrifice for us.  Because of Jesus Christ, we now have life. And as a Christian, a “little-Christ,” I am called to extend love to others.  Seventy times seven… forgiveness.  Lay down my life for my brothers and sisters love.

Hebrews 10:19-25 “And so, dear brothers and sisters, we can boldly enter heaven’s Most Holy Place because of the blood of Jesus. By his death,Jesus opened a new and life-giving way through the curtain into the Most Holy Place. And since we have a great High Priest who rules over God’s house, let us go right into the presence of God with sincere hearts fully trusting him. For our guilty consciences have been sprinkled with Christ’s blood to make us clean, and our bodies have been washed with pure water. Let us hold tightly without wavering to the hope we affirm, for God can be trusted to keep his promise. Let us think of ways to motivate one another to acts of love and good works. And let us not neglect our meeting together, as some people do, but encourage one another, especially now that the day of his return is drawing near.”

Who do you need to love in your life and put to death the still that gets in the way?

Categories: Family, Unity, Vision | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

