So, how are you doing?

We get asked that a lot these days!  How are we doing?  Such a crazy question to answer, right?  My (Emily’s) current answer to the question would be amazingly scattered. I thought I’d give you just a few of the things that fly through my mind when someone asks me this…

1. I’m doing AWESOME…God has never before put a task before me that is so obviously HIS CALLING for me, for us.  I’ve always believed that God leads, but I’ve seriously never felt such a strong presence and strong calling before in my life.  The path God took to lead us into missions confirmed for me that it is all God’s doing, not mine.  I’m simply walking in obedience to Him.  This is such a comfort to me in the hard moments!!

2. Ummm…to be fair and honest, I also have moments when I strongly dislike aspects of this journey.  I cried selling our stuff (like, seriously, we sold all our stuff).  Honestly, I’m somewhat disappointed we didn’t sell our house and instead are renting it.  I get nervous every.single.time I make a phone call to set up an appointment with someone.  I get this feeling like I don’t want to trust God or His people for support.  I’d rather have a job w/ a regular paycheck.  Ok…now laugh with me.  Those things fly through my head a lot.  But right behind them God reminds me that all things come from Him.  We are all dependent on Him to supply all our needs.  None of us can rely on our stuff, our paychecks, our plans, our dreams…the only strong rock is God our King.  The only security is in Him.  So, I pray just as quickly as I lose faith and God is faithful to remind me of His provision, who He is, how He loves me and all His people.  God is keeping me on my knees before Him.  I can’t do this on my own at all!  I can only stand and proclaim the goodness of my Lord.

Remember the band Caedmon’s Call?  I love their honesty in their lyrics.  They are writing the soundtrack for my life at the moment.  This song in particular is an encouragement to me.

Categories: prayer, Videos, Vision | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “So, how are you doing?

  1. ha I was just listening to them yesterday & today! 🙂 So glad you’re finding your security in God instead of the things of the world. We’re about to jump off our own cliff as Will prepares to get out of the Navy. This is a good reminder. 🙂

  2. Great post!! I felt the same way when I felt God leading me to leave my full time job to be a SAHM. When you’re in His will, everything is always provided, despite what the world prescribes as “secure”

  3. I’m so proud of you both and it is REALLY exciting to see His call so clearly for your family – what an encouragement to the rest of us to always be listening for His voice and seeking His will! We love you all so much 🙂

  4. Anonymous

    God is GOOD, ALL THE TIME!! I miss you and can’t wait to see you. You, Emily, are always an encouragement to me. I can’t wait to see how God is going to use you, Pete, and all your girls for His glory. Praying for you always!!!

  5. Ray Inman

    I love you. You and those around you will be rewarded for your real and honest emotion.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

