prayer needed…

Ok, ya’ll, so this one is by Emily…and I’m kinda a different person than Pete.  He’s all thoughtful, right?  I don’t know about you, but I think he’s pretty much the coolest person ever.  He’s in Mexico for the week, and I’m home with 5 kids.  Yep, 5.  I got 2 more because we have these awesome friends who both went to Mexico with Pete and the teens, while  I get the blessing of watching their 2 awesome kids.  So I’m with 5 kids under 4.  Really probably don’t need to say much more than that, right?  You can guess how my week is going.

And then there’s our darn house.You know what? I’m all up and worried about it.  There you go…I’m worried.  And I need you to pray that I would be at peace, ok? And that it would sell…but you know what? God cares so much more about my heart than my house.  He wants me to trust Him.  And more and more as I pray He’s reminding me He wants me to be THANKFUL.  Thankful that our house hasn’t sold yet.  Thankful that I have to constantly hand my worries over and accept God’s gentle peace calming my anxious heart.  Cause you know what He reminds me when I pray about the house?  He reminds me of the abused, the afflicted, and the unredeemed who are living in La Paz.  Someday soon I’ll be praying for them by name. By name. And praying for them even now consumes my heart so much more than prayers for my house.  In God’s eternal plan, those people have eternal souls.  My house will one day be no more. It’s just stuff.  Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also…God…overwhelm my heart.  You are my treasure.  God reminds me he loves me so much that He might just have some ideas about how I spend this time working to get to Mexico.  He cares about my heart; He cares about where I put my trust…in a house selling, in a certain level of support raised, or in HIM and HIM alone?  So…some people can say that “things are meant to be” because something sells quickly…but you know what…sometimes “things are meant to be” when something takes longer.  God is not on our timetable.  He is sovereign; He is in control; He is good.  All the time.  And sometimes what we think is hard or slow is His greatest blessing.

Psalm 20:7 Some trust in chariots and some in horses,
but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.

Philippians 4: 4-7 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Categories: prayer | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “prayer needed…

  1. Ray

    I love you Emily! I will definitely love the Gatos and kids from Marquez de Leon WITH you for the rest of my life. Thank you for watching my kids and giving me this opportunity to better serve Christ with you and your family in La Paz!

  2. Pingback: The Journey to Rowan | manna in the desert

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

