The lust, the flesh, the eyes and pride of life…

So this last week we officially put our house on the market. This was harder than we anticipated, not in the fact that it took physical work to get it ready, but in the fact that we had to work on emotionally and spiritually letting go of things we put our trust and security in.

We love our kitchen, the backyard, the deck and garden, the shower, the new washer and dryer we bought two years ago…basically we love our house. It was a place of peace and security…even with three young crazy and beautiful children in it!

But for how much we like to think we aren’t attached to our possessions…it took us saying bye to these things for us to realize how much we really do take pride and security in our material possessions. They give us a sense of accomplishment, a sense of security, and a sense of peace.

But is this ultimately where we are to put our trust and security…

“15Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 16For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions—is not from the Father but is from the world. 17And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever.” 1 John 2:15-17

What do you put your trust, security, and peace in?

….Really?…Think hard about it before answering…

Think about it as you listen to this old and great song by the 77s…

Lyrics:

Well, I feel
Like I have to feel
Something good all of the time
With most of life I cannot deal
But a good feeling I can feel
Even though it may not be real
And if a person, place or thing can deliver
I will quiver with delight
But will it last me for all my life
Or just one more lonely night

The lust, the flesh
The eyes
And the pride of life
Drain the life
Right out of me

Well, I see something and I want it
Bam! Right now!
No questions asked
Don’t worry how much it costs me now or later
I want it and I want it fast
I’ll go to any length
Sacrifice all that I already have
And all that I might get
Just to get
Something more that I don’t need
And Lord, please don’t ask me what for

The lust, the flesh
The eyes
And the pride of life
Drain the life
Right out of me

And I love when folks
Look right at me
And what I’m doing
Or have done
And lay it on about
How groovy I am
And that I’m looking grand
And every single word
Makes me think I’ll live forever
Never knowing that they probably
Won’t remember what they said tomorrow
Tomorrow I could be dead

The lust, the flesh
The eyes
And the pride of life
Drain the life
Right out of me

Categories: Family, prayer | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The lust, the flesh, the eyes and pride of life…

  1. Ray

    Proud of you guys! I’m eager to see your house sell quickly as God continues to bless you! It looks great, your hard will pay off!

  2. Kristen

    Word!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

